Help Bring "Hour of Code" to Your Community

Our nation—especially our tech sector—faces an enormous challenge: 90% of U.S. K-12 schools do not teach computer science. College students are not pursuing computer science degrees because they have never been learned even the basics of computer science in grade school. By 2020, we could see more than 1 million software jobs left unfilled—or filled in other nations—because of a shortage of people with computer science skills. This has to change!

Voices for Innovation is part of a nationwide effort to see that computer science becomes part of our nation’s K-12 curriculum. It’s already a requirement in China, Vietnam, and Estonia—and will soon be required in the UK and Australia. In the U.S., we need education to meet the needs of our digital age.

What You Can Do

During National Computer Science Education Week, December 9-15, thousands of educators, community leaders, and technology professionals will be participating in “Hour of Code.” The goal is to get 10 million students across the nation to participate in a 1 hour computer science tutorial designed to demystify “code” and show that anyone can learn the basics and be a creator and innovator. While the focus is on K-12, you can conduct a “Hour of Code” event at your workplace, with a Boy or Girl Scout troop, with a community group, and so on.

To participate, we encourage you to register and use the resources and tools provided by the main sponsoring organization, Before you visit the sign-up page, please let Voices for Innovation know of your interest by completing the fields below.*


*You will be added to Voices for Innovation’s email list. If you do not wish to receive email from VFI, please unsubscribe when you receive the first email. View our Privacy Statement.

December 09, 2013 at 12am - December 15, 2013
Teresa Henning Anita Randall-Packer Keith Grove elizabeth crews Raymond Negron Luis Del Solar Anna Lightner Michael Shabsin Ron Mitchell Leslie Shankman Angel Pla Rvdrhayr Gutierrez James Perkins Moshe Raab Eugenia Ahern Michael Pastorkovich Ted Pletenik, Jr Sherry Head Sherry Duchaine Vivian Pons Jeanette McKillop Chris Tinnermon Denise Knowles Martin Thistle Doug Levin Olive Franklin Olive Franklin Mickey Agney jorge gonzalez Greta Gonzalez Chantal Dothey Joannes Hotagua Faith Pitts John Somers Lorenia Misiaszek Troy Grant William Bresch jeff groethe Megan McKenna Rich D'Apollo Eric Meyer Patrick Cameron Noenoe Barney-Campbell Jeffrey Stewart Timothy Hutz John Mahoney Jeanne Lauziere Lisa Hofman

Will you come?

Be the first to comment